20 Weird Utah Laws that are Actually Real (2022)

20 Weird Utah Laws that are Actually Real (1)

Utah is home to many famous landmarks, among them the incredible red rock cliffs of Zion national park, eye-catching ski resorts like Snowbird, and the ski resorts Alta. With such elegant sites to explore, you cannot imagine Utah is also home to some of the strangest laws. Some of these legislations are remnants of bygone eras, while others seem to have been created on the spot. Are you curious about what is illegal in this State? The following are 20 of the weird Utah laws that are actually real.

20. Are your kids unruly?

Hotel innkeepers in Utah have the right to charge extra fees for individuals whose kids seem excessively busy during check-ins. The charges cover the losses and damages incurred after these parents check out. According to Utah Code 29-2-103, parents with unruly children may be required to pay a deposit of $500 in Beehive’s City hotels. Parents should promise in writing that they will own up to any damages, costs, and taxes incurred by a minor at a lodging establishment and its furnishings. In cases where a valid credit card is not an option, the parent is required to provide the innkeeper with a deposit not exceeding $500. The payment caters for any damages or charges caused by the minor towards a lodging establishment or its furnishing. This deposit may be refunded if it is not used to cover damages as determined by the innkeeper following room inspection once a client checks out.

19. Bury your pet promptly

If your pet dies, you may want some time to mourn and make proper preparations to give it a decent burial. In the Beehive State, pet owners can bury their deceased pets properly but have to do it within 48 hours. Burying of pets in the backyard is allowed, provided you own the property. The law also recommends burying the animal three feet underground.

(Video) Man Beheaded & Cannibalized on a Greyhound Bus (True Crime Documentary)

18. Strictly, no elephant hunting

Did you know that elephant hunting is illegal in Utah? It is one of many weird Utah laws still on the books. The Utah Legislature passed a law in 1909 that made it illegal to hunt elephants. Its unintended consequence of this law is that no one can legally kill an elephant for any reason in the State of Utah.

17. No selling alcohol in an emergency

Utah has stringent alcohol regulation laws. Some cities prohibit the sale of alcohol altogether. If you often run to the pub at the first hint of a problem, Utah may not be the ideal State for you. The law states that an individual may not sell, supply, offer to sell, or furnish alcoholic products in an area, during an emergency whose existence is proclaimed by the governor.

16. Throw rocks elsewhere

One of the weirder laws in Utah forbids residents from throwing rocks at cars. The law was put in place to avoid annoying pedestrians and travelers. The only exception is getting permission from the property owner. Throwing stones or rocks at vehicles is an annoying habit, and therefore, obeying this law may be a good idea.

15. Biting is not allowed in a boxing match

According to Justia US Laws, specific rules define how you can or cannot beat your opponent in a boxing match. Biting, striking an individual who demonstrates the inability to protect themselves, using anything that is not a part of the body, is against the law. Individuals who promote, publicize, engage, or conduct an ultimate fighting match are guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

(Video) Michael Jackson's maid reveals sordid Neverland secrets | 60 Minutes Australia

14. Whale hunting is not allowed

One weird law in Utah that is real concerns whale-hunting. Capturing a whale in Utah is illegal, and this ban has existed since 1970. The law protects the whales and promotes conservation efforts. In the real sense, whales are unlikely to survive in the Great Salt Lake since whales live in the ocean and the ocean is nowhere near Utah.

13. Do not prank police officers

Making prank phone calls to police officers is illegal in Utah. According to Utah Criminal Law, issuing a fake bomb threat and other prank calls involving mass threats is a criminal offense. Individuals should not call a police officer and pretend to be a victim of a crime. If you inform these law officers about an emergency and provide a different address, you will be guilty of a fourth-degree felony. The law was enacted in 2013 and is relevant to those who make a prank call to an emergency number. Do not take this lightly! Violators could face up to 1.5 years in jail, a fine of $ 10,000, or both.

12. Marrying a cousin is illegal

Utah is one of the few States where it is illegal for cousins to marry. If you want to get married and live in this State, you should date outside of the family. However, there are some exceptions, like in cases where both parties are 65 years and above, or at least 55 years old, and the local district court has approved that either party cannot reproduce. The law helps prevent incest and defects, likely to occur when close blood relatives have children together.

11. No drinks in restaurants unless you order food

Guests in Utah restaurants need to order food alongside their alcoholic beverages, even if they are in a hurry. Liquor stores have beer-only licenses, but if you are looking for refreshing alcohol at a restaurant in Utah, nobody will serve you until you order some food. Serving alcoholic beverages to customers without an additional food order is against the law. Stealing bread baskets from another table does not work in the Beehive State. There is no specification on how much food a patron can order.

(Video) Why 9-Year-Old Boy With Autism Got Arrested at School

10. You cannot pester certain workers

If you are in Price city, Utah, do not think about speaking or bothering a city engineer while at work. In the rare case that you might come across a milkman, make sure you give them personal space. Any communication from these workers needs to be initiated by them, not you.

9. Strictly, no weather modification

Did you know that it is illegal to modify the weather in Utah without a permit? Believe it or not, this is an existing law in our State. If you are caught tampering with the weather, you could face serious consequences. Weather modifications can include cloud seeding, which increases snow or rain, and helps enhance the local water supply. Be sure to check with the proper authorities before you try to bring on a little rain or snow.

8. Do not open your container of alcohol in the car

It is illegal to have an open container of alcohol inside a vehicle that is on public roads. This includes cars parked on private property, such as a driveway. Utah law states that no person shall have any alcoholic beverage in the passenger area of a motor vehicle. That includes glove compartments, under seats, and in the trunk. The only exception is if the container is full and sealed or if you’re pulling over for a break. An open container of your favorite alcoholic drink in the car can attract up to 90 days’ jail term and a $750 fine, which is actually a common law in most states. No open containers.

7. Liquor stores do not open on Sundays

Whiskey, rum, vodka, and other distilled spirits are sold in liquor stores. Also, they are the only places to buy your favorite wine or beer above 5% ABV. These stores remain closed on Sundays and reopen Monday through Saturday. In addition, your favorite liquor store will not open on all federal and State holidays. If you must take alcohol on Sundays, Christmas, or Thanksgiving, you can try your luck with licensed distillers.

(Video) Skinwalker Ranch - The Full Story | Documentary

6. Do not cause a catastrophe

According to the Utah State code, chapter 76a, section 3011, causing a catastrophe due to recklessness makes you guilty of a C misdemeanor. Causing any sort of catastrophe in Utah is illegal. Do you know what qualifies as a catastrophe? Well, the State’s criminal code defines a catastrophe as the use of weapons of mass destruction, fire, avalanche, explosion, the collapse of a building, flood, and other destructive force, or harmful substance that can lead to widespread damage or injury. This may appear in the list of weird Utah laws, and the language sounds funny, but if you look at it carefully, it makes lots of sense. The legal clause deals with people who cause explosions, fires, floods, and other issues that hurt others and cause property damages.

5. 2 Liters of beer is enough

Retain licensees may not sell, offer to sell, or furnish beer in containers whose size exceeds two littles. You can buy a Budweiser larger (300ml), Double Rye (750ml), one liter of Beehive Vodka, or a 650ml beer bomber. On the other hand, nobody will sell you a sixth barrel (19 liters) or a30L Pony Keg unless you are a licensed retailer. That may not be a huge surprise. Do you know that mini bottles (below 200ml) are also illegal? You would rather buy that 750 ml vodka than those tiny bottles of liquor.

4. Riding a bike is no circus

In Utah, you are prohibited from riding a bike without touching the handlebars, regardless of your prowess in cycling. The law dictates that at least one hand should be touching the bars. You might think this is common sense, but there are plenty of people who have been ticketed for breaking this law. Breaking this law could result in fines. Bicycle enthusiasts can get away with sipping their coffee while peddling, but one hand needs to touch the bars.

3. No sheepherding on street corners

There are a lot of strange laws in Utah, but the law prohibiting herding animals on a street corner is pretty unique. Driving a herd of animals in this State is only permissible if you get consent from the mayor. There was an incident where sheepherders were allowed to herd their sheep across the street without any interference, resulting in some traffic problems and unhappy motorists. In response, lawmakers passed legislation to prevent livestock, llamas, emus, and other hoofed animals from being herded on city streets.

(Video) United States of Secrets, Part One (full documentary) | FRONTLINE

2. Ensure your horse is under control

Keep your horse corralled, or it will be considered a public nuisance. You need to confine your horses in Utah. If animals are left to stray, they can cause lots of damage to property, humans, and other animals. Do not let your horse run free in Utah, or the State will be forced to capture and sell it. The county legislative body eliminates all abandoned horses through the most economical and effective means possible. Also, the law dictates that horse owners will be liable for the damages or injury caused by their horses. Animals need proper food and water, shelter from the elements, and protection from predators. This legislation is actually in place to ensure the safety of domestic animals. The issue of straying horses was a huge problem a century ago, and it is not clear why this law is still in the books.

1. Bringing liquor into Utah is like trafficking Afghan heroin

The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC) has the sole mandate for importing all alcoholic beverages. Liquor is expensive in Utah, but you cannot stock up on alcohol in another State and bring it here. If you come from a foreign country, you can keep a few liters for personal use. Individuals who have a second residence outside the State can get DABC’s approval to bring some booze. You have to pay a fee and bring alcohol once. Accredited foreign diplomatic missions or inheritances can seek clearance. The 20 weird laws in Utah outlined in this article are a source of amusement and portray the State’s conservative nature. They are influenced by the Church teachings and the Mormon culture in the Beehive State. This is evident in the strict law against alcohol consumption, where it is illegal to buy, sell or consume any form of alcohol in some cities. In addition, some of the strange laws in Utah are a reaction to real-life incidents, while others result from the State’s culture and history.

FAQs

Can an 18 year old date a 16 year old in Utah? ›

In Utah, it is illegal for an adult (someone 18 or older) to have sex with a minor (someone 15 or younger), even if the sex is consensual. Those who break the law have committed statutory rape.

What are the top 10 weirdest laws? ›

Weirdest laws passed in every state
  • No intoxicated skiing. ...
  • Cheese standards are regulated. ...
  • No 'lewd and lascivious' behavior before marriage. ...
  • It's illegal to kill Bigfoot. ...
  • No hunting on Sundays, unless you're killing raccoons. ...
  • No forbidding people from putting up clotheslines. ...
  • It's illegal to 'cause a catastrophe'

Is it illegal in Utah to not drink milk? ›

On the subject of what you can and can't drink in Utah, it seems that the state is not the friendliest for those who are lactose intolerant. In the state, it is illegal to not drink milk, which leads one to wonder if Utah's dairy farmers had something to do with state lawmaking.

Is raw milk illegal in Utah? ›

Utah law allows the sale of raw milk under certain conditions. In Utah, a raw milk producer holding a valid permit issued by the Utah Department of Agriculture and Foods may sell raw milk upon the premises where the milk is produced or at a self owned retail store if certain requirements are met.

Is it illegal to kiss a minor in Utah? ›

Potential Criminal Charges for Kissing a Minor in Utah

If, for example, you go up to a young child in a park and kiss them on the lips out of nowhere, this may be criminal conduct. However, it is probably (although not certainly) not enough to get you charged with a sex crime like sexual assault.

How old is a minor in Utah? ›

As used in this section, "minor" means an individual who is 14 years old or older, but younger than 16 years old, at the time the sexual activity described in Subsection (2) occurred.

What state has the youngest age of consent? ›

Most of the states start at the age of 16, However, Arizona, North Dakota, Oregon and Virginia states has minimum age of victim is 15.

What is the craziest law in America? ›

In Alaska it is illegal to wake a sleeping bear to take a photo, while in Arizona keep your donkey awake near the bathtub, as it's illegal for a donkey to sleep in one. Still probably appropriate in today's terms, it is illegal to ride a horse while under the influence in Colorado.

Is driving barefoot illegal? ›

It is not illegal to drive barefoot, with flip flops or high heels. It is up to us to create awareness of why inappropriate footwear can be extremely dangerous!

What old laws still exist? ›

31 Strange But True Laws Still On The Books
  • No Margarine In Wisconsin! ...
  • Children's Lemonade Stands Are Illegal. ...
  • 3. ' ...
  • Breaking The Speed Limit … ...
  • Bingo Sessions Must Not Last Longer Than Five Hours. ...
  • Canada's 'No Penny' Law. ...
  • Imprisonment For 'Fake' Weather Reports. ...
  • Fortune-telling Bad, Unless It's Healthcare-Related.

What are some unfair laws? ›

  • Money Bail. ...
  • Private Bail Companies. ...
  • Suspended Drivers Licenses. ...
  • Excessive Mandatory Minimum Sentences. ...
  • Wealth-Based Banishment That Outlaws Low-Income Housing. ...
  • Private Probation Abuses. ...
  • Parking Tickets to Debtors' Prison. ...
  • Sex Offense Registration Laws.

Is it illegal to sing in a swimsuit in Florida? ›

If you're planning on doing some karaoke on the beach, you may want to cover up first, as it is illegal in the State of Florida to sing in a bathing suit. Fortunately, this law is generally not applied, so feel free to sing in whichever articles of clothing you happen to be wearing.

What are the weirdest laws in each state? ›

The Weirdest Laws In Every State
  • Alabama: Confetti is illegal. wundervisuals/iStock.com. ...
  • Alaska: No moose on sidewalks. Michal Sarauer/Shutterstock. ...
  • Arizona: No spitting. ...
  • Arkansas: Say it right. ...
  • California: No nuclear bombs. ...
  • Colorado: Whack your weeds. ...
  • Connecticut: Pickles should bounce. ...
  • Delaware: No Halloween on Sundays.
26 Mar 2020

Is riding in the bed of a truck illegal in Utah? ›

Utah law does not prohibit people from riding in the bed of a pickup truck. However, since occupant restraints are not available in that location, it isn't a good idea. It's much better if people ride inside the cab of the truck and use safety belts.

Is Utah a dry state? ›

For some reason, it is a common misconception that Utah is a "dry" (alcohol forbidden) state. This is simply not true.

Does Utah have blue laws? ›

Utah follows a very specific set of nudity laws known as "Blue Laws" or SB0132 (112) - known as a "state of seminudity" within the presence of the sales of alcohol.

Why is raw butter illegal? ›

FDA's butter ban is illegal according to a statute in the FFDCA that governs standards of identity for food. Standards of identity are requirements prescribing what a food product must contain to be marketed under a certain name in interstate commerce.

Is raw butter illegal? ›

The FDA says no. You can buy raw butter in California, but you can't take it across state lines. Photography courtesy of Organic Pastures Dairy Co. In 1987, the FDA banned farmers from selling raw milk and other unpasteurized dairy products across state lines.

Can you sell raw goat milk in Utah? ›

Raw Milk Laws & Regulations

Yes - sales on farm allowed. Requires the store to be owned by the producer (can be located off of the farm).

Does Utah have blue laws? ›

Utah follows a very specific set of nudity laws known as "Blue Laws" or SB0132 (112) - known as a "state of seminudity" within the presence of the sales of alcohol.

What is Utah's abortion law? ›

Abortion in Utah is legally performed under a temporary restraining order blocking enforcement of the state's trigger law, which bans abortion. According to HB136, which is effective state law from June 28, 2022, abortions are banned following 18 weeks of gestation.

Why is Utah so strict with alcohol? ›

The Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services (UDABS) has regulated the sale of alcoholic beverages since 1935, two years after the end of Prohibition. Utah is one of seventeen control states, meaning the state has a monopoly over the wholesaling and/or retailing of some or all categories of alcoholic beverages.

Is Utah a dry state? ›

For some reason, it is a common misconception that Utah is a "dry" (alcohol forbidden) state. This is simply not true.

Can you drink in Utah on Sunday? ›

Liquor, wine, and beer are available at licensed restaurants and bars seven days a week. Alcoholic beverage service in a licensed restaurant requires that food be ordered with your drink, and that it be delivered by an authorized employee.

What is the drinking age in Utah? ›

Only adults of legal age can order and consume beer, wine and hard liquor at bars, pubs and restaurants, and — you guessed it — that legal age is 21. It's the unique aspects of Utah's liquor laws that need a little explaining.

Can I buy beer in Utah on Sunday? ›

Liquor stores are open Monday through Saturday, typically from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. — although there are a few that stay open until 10 p.m. Liquor stores are always closed on Sunday and all state and federal holidays, so plan accordingly, especially around Thanksgiving and Christmas, when the lines are often long.

What is Utah trigger law? ›

Utah's abortion trigger law, Abortion Prohibition Amendments, or SB174, was signed into law by former Gov. Gary Herbert in 2020. It prohibits abortion in all cases, except for a few limited circumstances.

Is Plan B legal in Utah? ›

Utahns can go to Planned Parenthood to get Plan B. It is also available at pharmacies in Utah without a prescription.

What is a trigger state? ›

Thirteen states across the country have signaled their readiness to ban abortion by passing so-called trigger laws, which would effectively ban abortions almost immediately after a decision from the Supreme Court to overturn Roe v.

Why is there no coffee in Utah? ›

Coffee and tea were popular commodities at trading posts, as well as alcohol, and Mormons figured they could give them up altogether. This was further aided by the move to Utah, where coffee was simply not available because, at the time, very few people lived there.

How late can you buy beer in Utah? ›

Alcoholic beverages may be sold on any day from 10:00 AM until 1:00 AM. Bars: Liquor, wine, flavored malt beverages, heavy beer, and beer may be served from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. Patrons may be served at a bar or table, but food must be available at all times.

What percent of Utah is Mormon? ›

As of 2020, 60.68% of Utahns are reported as members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Does Walmart in Utah sell liquor? ›

You can buy beer and liquor in the Wal Mart in Page. In Utah, you can buy it in the state liquor stores, which are not open on Sunday.

What state has the strictest alcohol laws? ›

Top 8 States with The Strictest Alcohol Laws in the US
  • Texas. Publis intoxication in this state is a serious crime with a potential jail time of up to 180 days. ...
  • New Jersey. ...
  • North Carolina. ...
  • South Carolina. ...
  • Pennsylvania. ...
  • Utah. ...
  • Massachusetts. ...
  • Alaska.
1 Jun 2022

Is Utah expensive to live in? ›

Utah ranks 34th in the U.S. News & World Report's Affordability Rankings which means it's one of the most expensive states in the country to live in. The rankings measure the average cost of living against the average amount of money most households in that state have.

Videos

1. What's really hiding under Cheyenne Mountain in Colorado?
(9NEWS)
2. Birds Aren't Real: The conspiracy theory that satirizes conspiracy theories
(60 Minutes)
3. A real life haunted house?
(WXYZ-TV Detroit | Channel 7)
4. Times NBA Fans Went TOO FAR..
(REBOUND)
5. The Woman Who Was Burned Alive By A Drunk Driver | The Oprah Winfrey Show | Oprah Winfrey Network
(OWN)
6. 11-year-old arrested for his pregnant soon-to-be stepmother's murder: 20/20 Oct 19 Pt 1
(ABC News)

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Msgr. Benton Quitzon

Last Updated: 12/06/2022

Views: 6268

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (63 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Msgr. Benton Quitzon

Birthday: 2001-08-13

Address: 96487 Kris Cliff, Teresiafurt, WI 95201

Phone: +9418513585781

Job: Senior Designer

Hobby: Calligraphy, Rowing, Vacation, Geocaching, Web surfing, Electronics, Electronics

Introduction: My name is Msgr. Benton Quitzon, I am a comfortable, charming, thankful, happy, adventurous, handsome, precious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.